Skip to content

Utility and necessity are key to online sustainability

January 13, 2012

In one of my favourite movies, George Clooney, playing retiring army Major Archie Gates, has a few lines in one of my favourite movies that goes something like this:

Archie Gates: What’s the most important thing in life?

Troy Barlow: Respect.

Archie Gates: Too dependent on other people.

Conrad Vig: What, love?

Archie Gates: A little Disneyland, isn’t it?

Chief Elgin: God’s will.

Archie Gates: Close.

Troy Barlow: What is it then?

Archie Gates: Necessity.

Troy Barlow: As in?

Archie Gates: As in people do what is most necessary to them at any given moment. 

 

Let’s face it, necessity is a fundamental that gets lost with the slurry of fun and cool things we can now do online. I was thinking about it while casting my eye over some old ecommerce data over a few glasses of wine the other night.

One report that jumped out at me was one by the Australian Communications & Media Authority (ACMA) from mid last year, which puts some common sense back into some of the hype around eCommerce and even mcommerce.

One table, replicated below, showed that while it was indeed exciting that mcommerce gained significant momentum in the 12 months leading up to June 2011, the vast majority of usage according to Roy Morgan was for banking and paying bills. In fact, only 3% of mobile internet users had actually purchased goods & service with their phone. I’ve seen other data to contest that figure, but the issue is apparent – necessity comes before desire.

The other table that caught my eye showed the propensity of Australians by location to buys goods and services online. It showed that across a number of key categories the difference between remote, regional and city areas. I’ve replicated four of the categories in the table below. You’ll see pretty quickly that Internet users living in remote areas of the country have the highest propensity to purchase travel, personal items (including fashion), household goods and music & video content online.

You might argue that buying travel, fashion and DVDs don’t reflect ‘necessity’ of course, but keep in mind that with Maslow’s hierarchy of needs comes a fluctuating definition of ‘necessity’ depending on one’s circumstances. Here in Australia, we’re doing OK, and for many of these Internet shoppers in remote areas, things like travel, clothing and entertainment have become the thing they need most, and the accessibility that eCommerce provides means that they are much more likely of course to go shopping online where they can instead of driving several hours to the nearest store.

Accessibility in itself is of course a necessity for people in rural and regional areas, which is what really went through

my mind while looking at these figures. The need for the Internet to be accessible provides people with the means to find and acquire things they need and want. In that sense, the utility of ecommerce is the most important thing to people in rural and regional areas.

The implication of necessity in ecommerce and other online technologies is what I hope will steer the next generation of startup businesses. The example above is related to locality, but every market segment has specific elements of necessity that can be met better using online tools.

So for all the startup folk out there, stop trying to build more social networking tools and start trying to deploy [more] business models that make a difference to someone’s life. He or she who provides actual utility to their target audience’s life (In startup speak that is normally phrased “what specific problem are you trying to solve, and for whom?”) in a simple and meaningful way will resound far greater over the next couple of years than any new social sharing tool will.

And the movie? It’s Three Kings, of Course.

9 Comments
  1. I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome web log!

  2. Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is fantastic, let alone the content!

  3. Fantastic goods from you, man. Utility and necessity are key to online sustainability Deliriant Isti Romani (These Romans are mad!) I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just too great. I actually like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it smart. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is really a tremendous Utility and necessity are key to online sustainability Deliriant Isti Romani (These Romans are mad!) informations.

  4. I don’t even understand how I stopped up right here, however I believed this publish used
    to be great. I do not realize who you are but certainly you are going to a well-known blogger in the event you aren’t
    already. Cheers!

  5. Hi my loved one! I want to say that this post is amazing, great written and come with approximately
    all significant infos. I would like to peer extra posts like this .

  6. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to
    suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!

  7. Today, I went to the beach front with my kids. I found a sea shell
    and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is
    entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  8. Hello There. I discovered your weblog the use of msn. This is an extremely smartly written article.

    I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your helpful information. Thank you for the post.
    I will certainly comeback.

Leave a Reply

