Skip to content

My favourite TV commercial of all time

August 22, 2011

Thought I’d posted this before but went to show someone and realised I hadn’t. It’s one of my favourite all-time Michael Jordan ads – but also one of the more inspirational pieces of copywriting I’ve ever come across, so you don’t have to be sports-oriented to appreciate it.

What really works is the fact that I believed in every word of it, years before this ad was made or the copy was written. I apply it in my everyday life, my business life – the works. I often watch the clip every now and then when I need a reminder of why we do what we do.

Unfortunately for Jordan’s clothing brand though – it’s never made me want to buy any of his gear!

The copy:

Look me in the eyes.
It’s okay if you’re scared,
So am I.
But we’re scared for different reasons.
I’m scared of what I won’t become,
and you’re scared of what I could become.
Look at me.
I won’t let myself end where I started,
I won’t let myself finish where I began.
I know what is within me,
Even if you can’t see it yet.
Look me in the eyes.
I have something more important than courage,
I have patience.
I will become,
what I know I am.

 

From → General

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

